[Resolved] Rotary encoder not working

Post Reply
CRNorris
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:06 pm

[Resolved] Rotary encoder not working

Post by CRNorris »

Hi,

I'm building an FG805 from a kit.

I've got as far as turning it on for the first time to check it's working. All the buttons are working, the screen works, it all seems ok, except that the rotary encoder isn't doing anything.

It doesn't have any effect if I turn it or press it.

What can I do about this? I don't think I can use this device for anything at the moment.

Thanks!
Last edited by CRNorris on Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CRNorris
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Rotary encoder not working

Post by CRNorris »

I guess I'll return it then
jye1
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Rotary encoder not working

Post by jye1 »

Can you check the soldering of diode D9 (please see attachment for circled component)? It might be open.

085G_D9.jpg
CRNorris
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Rotary encoder not working

Post by CRNorris »

Thanks very much for replying, I hadn't returned it just yet.

That diode was gone! Looks like it fell off.

I replaced it with the only diode I had spare, which was quite a bit bigger. The unit seems to be working fine now.

Image
jye1
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: [Resolved] Rotary encoder not working

Post by jye1 »

Sorry to know that the diode was gone. Please contact JYE Tech at jyetech@163.com. We'll be happy to mail you a SMD diode so that it can be fixed properly. There is no charge for the replacement.
Post Reply