Only 1 channel working

Dual channel oscilloscope
Post Reply
jatheman
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:19 am

Only 1 channel working

Post by jatheman »

Hi.
Only one of the channels on the Wave2 is working. The other one is only showing noise. Nothing happens when I connect the probe to it.
The other one is working just fine an d I have managed to calibrate it.

I have the DIY kit
jye1
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Only 1 channel working

Post by jye1 »

Can you post more details? Did you check with or without probe? Try touching the center conductor of the BNC connector with a screw driver and check if you can see any activity on screen. Also make sure the voltages at analog board check points are correct.
jatheman
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:19 am

Re: Only 1 channel working

Post by jatheman »

Hi.
Yes, i did check it with and without the probe. I even switch the probes but same result.
I have tried to touch the center of the BNC Connector but no respons on ch1.
Ihave checked all the voltages and they are within the limits.
I have attached some images of the screen showing the "noise" on ch1 and screen without the analog board and also front and back of the analog board.
For Informationen, I have double check all the components that I have soldered and they are correct.
Attachments
Without analog Board
Without analog Board
Analog Board back
Analog Board back
Analog Board front
Analog Board front
Screenshot
Screenshot
jye1
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Only 1 channel working

Post by jye1 »

Thank you for the details. It looks the connection from Ch1 analog channel output to the ADC input on the main board was open somewhere. The screen displayed CH1 waveform as if no analog board connected. It is suggested to check the connection from the point V14 at analog board to U1 pin10 on the main board. Please refer to the schematics.
jatheman
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:19 am

Re: Only 1 channel working

Post by jatheman »

Ok, thanks.
I will try that.
jatheman
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:19 am

Re: Only 1 channel working

Post by jatheman »

Hi.
Problem solved.
There was a bad soldering from the factory on the pin connector between analog and main board.
Everything works fine.
Attachments
CONNECTION.PNG
jye1
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Only 1 channel working

Post by jye1 »

It's the problem was found. For not fully assembled boards solder joints like this that are easy to access are not included in the production tests. They relies on DIYers to fix if problem arises.
Post Reply